NANOGrav's Fall 2023 Collaboration Meeting

Bi-Annual Conference for NANOGrav Science

18 Oct 2023 | 7am - 20 Oct 2023 | 11am
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Hebb's Hall at University of British Columbia

View of the Foyer of Hebb's Hall at the University of British Columbia.

The meeting will take place Wednesday - Friday (October 18-20) within the normal business hours of the Pacific Time Zone. This meeting will be a hybrid meeting where attendees can attend in person or via Zoom during our recorded science talks, invited guest speaker presentations, and panels.

The main meeting sessions will be held at the University of British Columbia's Department of Physics and Astronomy located within Hebbs Hall. The street address is 2045 East Mall, Vancouver, B.C. V6T 1Z1. It is located within the Vancouver campus of UBC, which is about 7-miles away from the Downtown area.


Registration is Closed


From Monday - Tuesday (October 16th - 17th), the University of British Columbia will be hosting both the traditional Student Introductory Workshop as well as "CHIME-o-Grav Hack Days" dedicated to data combination efforts with our partners at CHIME.

The conference will consist of three days, featuring talks from collaboration members as well as discussion sessions and an invited DEI speaker. As with previous meetings, the proceedings will conclude by 12:00 PM PST on Friday, October 20th to accommodate travel arrangements for in-person attendees.

There will be a Conference Banquet for all in-person attendees on Thursday evening. Details regarding this event will be made available soon.

A draft schedule is available here.

Travel Information

This conference is being hosted by the University of British Columbia in Canada. As such, there are additional things to consider when traveling across the boarder. The University has a helpful guide for things to keep in mind when traveling to its campus, located here.

Most folks will be flying in via Vancouver International Airport, located south of the conference's campus. The airport is a roughly 22 minutes away by car and 55 minutes by public transit.

Vancouver has an expansive public transportation network, which can be explored here. Additionally, there are numerous bike-share programs throughout the UBC campus and the city. You can learn more here.

Getting to UBC from YVR airport:

  1. A taxi will cost a flat rate of $35 plus tip and take close to 30 minutes depending on traffic.
  2. Transit is a great option.  Take the Skytrain Canada Line from the airport to Broadway/City Hall station, cross both Broadway and Cambie to the Northwest corner, and get on the 99 bus to UBC.  The Western Parkway/Wesbrook Mall stop is closest to TRIUMF House (turn left and walk a few blocks along Wesbrook Mall) and the last stop, at the bus loop, is closest to West Coast Suites and Gage.

Getting to UBC from downtown:

  1. Take the 44 Southbound along Burrard and stay on until the very end at the UBC bus loop.
  2. Take the 10 or 16 Southbound along Granville, get off at Broadway, cross to the NW corner of Broadway and Granville, then take the 99 to the UBC bus loop.
  3. Take the Skytrain Canada Line to Broadway/City Hall, cross both Broadway and Cambie to the Northwest corner, and get on the 99 bus to UBC.

All public transit is wheelchair accessible. Note that there is extensive construction along Broadway between Commercial and Arbutus in order to extend the Skytrain to  Arbutus (and hopefully one day all the way to UBC) so the 99 bus will be in slow traffic for part of its journey.

Hotel Information

A block of rooms is being reserved at two hotels downtown, the Parker Hotel (1379 Howe Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 2R5) and the EXChange Hotel (475 Howe Street, Vancouver, BC, V6C 2B3). Both hotels have a set of 15 single bed and 15 double bed rooms available.

Reservations at the Parker Hotel are $299 CAD / Night (+20.675% tax) for a total of $268.94 USD / Night. In order to reserve your room, please call 1.800.570.3932 or locally 1.604.688.7678 and mention that this is for the "UBC Science (Physics & Astronomy)" group block.

Reservations at the EXChange Hotel are $329 CAD / Night (+20.675% tax) for a total of $295.92 USD / Night. In order to reserve your room, please call 1.833.381.7623 and mention that this is for the "UBC Science (Physics & Astronomy)" group block.

Both hotel blocks will be released from reservation on September 22nd, 2023.

For those interested in staying on campus, there are some professional lodging options. While things are quite limited due to the time of year, we recommend either West Coast Suites or the Gage Suites. Both have attached kitchens and are idea for shared boarding via the double suites.

Registered Attendees

Aaron Johnson Abhimanyu Susobhanan Adam Brazier
Adam Dong Adeela Afzal Aiden Akers
Akash Anumarlapudi Alex Cingoranelli Alex Saffer
Alyssa Cassity Amanda Karis Amanda Vazquez
Anala Kavumkandathil Sreekumar Andrea Mitridate Ann Schmiedekamp
Anna-Malin Lemke Ashley Martsen Ben Perera
Ben Schumont Bence Becsy Bjorn Larsen
Caitlin Witt Caner Unal Carl Schmiedekamp
Cayenne Matt Chiara Mingarelli CJ
Dallas DeGan Dan Stinebring David Kaplan
David Nice David Wright Deborah Good
Elizabeth Ferrara Emiko Gardiner Emmanuel Fonseca
Erick A. Roura Ezequiel Zubieta Felix Weber
Fronefield Crawford Gabriel Freedman Gabriella Agazie
Georgia lowes Graham Doskoch Heling Deng
Henri Radovan Holly Legleiter Ingrid Stairs
J. Andrew Casey-Clyde Jacob Taylor Jacob Turner
Jason E. Ybarra Jeff Hazboun Jeremy Baier
Jeremy Wachter Jessica Sydnor Jessie Runnoe
Jim Cordes Joe Glaser Joe Simon
Joey Shapiro Key Joseph Lazio Joseph Romano
Juan Kai Schmitz Kalista
Kathryn Crowter Kayhan Gültekin Ken Olum
Kevin Wilson Kyle Gersbach Lankeswar Dey
Lars Künkel Laura Blecha Levi Schult
London Willson Lucas Brown Luke Kelley
Lydia Guertin Magdalena Siwek Margaret Mattson
Maria Charisi Martina Salichs Maidana Maura McLaughlin
Megan DeCesar Mercedes Michael Lam
Nihan Pol Nikita Agarwal Nima Laal
Olivia Bitcon Olivia Young Patrick Meyers
Paul Brook Paul Demorest Peter Orndoff
Polina Petrov Pratik Kumar Rand Burnette
Richard von Eckardstein Ross Jennings Ryan Krismer
Ryan Lynch Sarah Burke-Spolaor Shami Chatterjee
Shannon Sylvie Abelson Shashwat Sardesai Sophia Sosa
Stella Ocker Stephen Taylor Sujin Eie
Swarali Shivraj Patil Sydney Jetton Taylor Starkman
Thankful Cromartie Timothy Dolch Tobias Schroeder
Tonia Klein Tyler Cohen Victoria Blackmon
Waqas Ahmed William Fiore Xavier Siemens